Where Gluten Hides!

Good evening, yogis!

Starting a gluten free diet, whether it’s by choice or by doctor’s orders, can be scary and difficult. It’s hard to know where to even start.  Learning everything that has gluten in it, or how to avoid being ‘glutenized’ is challenging.  I remember when I stopped eating gluten 5 years ago I made so many mistakes, and paid for them later.  Thankfully I had my cousin Nicole who had been gluten free for years!  She answered all of my questions, gave me meal advice, and helped me make the transition to living a gluten free life.  I was so lucky to have a mentor, which is why I want to be that for others. 

Surprisingly buckwheat is gluten free!

Surprisingly buckwheat is gluten free!

When most people hear gluten free, they typically think it just means not eating wheat.  That’s just the beginning.  Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, malt, bulgur, farro, kamut, spelt, and triticale.  What’s tricky is all of these things can come in different forms on an ingredient list where gluten can hide.  It can also be used in making foods which can then attach to your presumed gluten free meal.  For example, did you know that blue cheese is often created by adding mold to cheese?  Traditionally, this mold has been grown on bread.  What are the odds that particles of bread or gluten didn’t join the mold that grew on it when being added to the cheese itself? Also, factories that make bread products are often cloudy because of all the flour in the air.  Frequently, these factories also make oats.  Therefore, although oats are gluten free in nature (and can be purchased from gluten free facilities), it’s safe to say that the flour in the air is also in the oats. 

One of my favorite snacks! 

One of my favorite snacks! 

Along the way, I’ll be breaking down the ins and outs of gluten but tonight I wanted to share with you many of the places gluten likes to hide to save you from learning the hard way.  Read your labels!

  • Soy sauce: the first ingredient is wheat! The good news is that organic soy sauce is often gluten free, just make sure that you check the label!
  • BBQ sauce
  • Hidden Valley Italian salad dressing packets
  • Salad dressings
  • Wine (sorry!)
  • Broth
  • Lunchmeat: it’s used as a filler.
  • Meatballs
  • Gravy
  • Any labels that read ‘natural flavors’ unless marked otherwise.
  • Oats
  • Malodextrin: unless derived from corn
  • Prescriptions: yep, it’s scary!  Make sure that you double check with manufacturer.
  • Coffee
  • Tea: this will read ‘barley malt’ or malt of any sort.
  • Greens: these are powders that contain wheat grass.
  • Seasonings packets
  • Anything fried in same fryer as breaded foods: if French fries are made with breaded chicken, it’s safe to believe chunks of that breaded chicken will make your way to your fries.
  • Processed meats: the crab in your California roll unless it’s called ‘king crab.’ Basically the crab stick is made from wheat and crab flavor… yuck!
These are so delicious and appropriately spicy!

These are so delicious and appropriately spicy!

Health & lots of love, 

Jenny